Star Struck

31 Aug

horsing agound at walnut acres 113

Watching my daughter this week has been taking me back in time. That is what is great about being twenty nine a few times, and being a parent; you get to enjoy great memories! This week I have been with her as she explores the horse world and everything amazing in it, just as I did when I was a young teen.

This week my mini-me has went from being horse crazy to absolutely star stuck. You know those crazy kids that have that Justin -whats-his-name hanging on their wall? Or perhaps you remember swooning yourself when some guys named themselves after an insect and came to our side of the pond. I am sure any of my blogging friends out there can relate to the mania and obsession kids from all over give to boy bands and the beautiful and famous.

That is nothing compared to a teenager with a bad case of horse fever.

A star stuck horse crazy girl will look at magazines and go to horse shows, and come home believing that her horse, can, and will learn to piaffe. ( For my patient readers that are non-horsey that means they trot in place, like prancing. But it is a big deal.) She will beg for sleek breeches and boots that only set a parent back a cool hundred or so. She will braid anything she can get her fingers on because one day she will have a mane to braid for a very important show. I know exatly what she is going through. I put my parents through the same routine.

However, I owned a very humble quarter horse, just as we own a Quarter Horse today. This horse was born to play with cows, not dance ballet.

Star stuck teenagers in the barn however are not appeased with records and posters of their idol, noooooo…they go shopping for very, very expensive tack. Because if you put dressage saddle on a Quarter Horse, it will BE a dressage horse. If you wear awesome boots and breeches, your horse will see this and become determined to collect themselves and carry themselves with far more pride than an ordinary trail horse. My very patient and kind horse tolerated me dreaming on his behalf too. I polished and shined him every day, braided him and dreamt about how someday I would have the money and means to take him foxhunting. That loving friend of mine was just thrilled that I made it out to the barn every day to play.

Yes, I know all of this because I did this to my poor parents; I dragged them to tack shops and talked their ears off about what great things horses and I would do someday. This week they are watching me now as I patiently explain to my star struck teenager that someday….her dreams just might come true.

7 Responses to “Star Struck”

  1. ridefireflyfarm August 31, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Just FYI: My Quarter Horse adores dressage–that’s what she loves and wants to do. We can ask your horse if that’s what she loves to do, too. If the answer is no, we can find what she loves to do.

    • saraannon August 31, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

      While modern competitive dressage all too often demonstrates serious failures to respect the well-being of the horse at this time, classical dressage is suited for all horses. It intends to develop the natural abilities of the individual horse according to its needs with the goal of soundness and sanity as well as strength and grace.Its roots are deep in Spain where vaqueros and the the Spanish horses that are part of the lineage of the Quarter Horse learned to dance together so that horse and rider could handle the Iberian fighting bulls with grace and safety. Remembering that dressage has a pragmatic purpose and that cow horses should be schooled with kindness and finesse is a gift to both dressage and quarter horses. You might enjoy a look at some of the contemporary you-tube clips of Doma Vaquero exhibitions.

      • Blazing a Trail for Wendy September 1, 2013 at 1:54 am #

        I rewrote my blog after reading through the comments. Thank you for your well intended advice.
        This blog is not to educate anyone on any particular view of horsemanship, it is simply a place to write to my children and grandchildren about life as we move through it. The spirit of a single mother was thinking today about what it was like dreaming about a horse that did not reflect the one underneath her.

        Thank you again for pointing out that I needed to spend time clarifying my writing.

    • Blazing a Trail for Wendy September 1, 2013 at 1:57 am #

      Thank you Sarah, I will definitely spend some more time re-writing my thoughts to make them much more clear. I seemed to have stepped on many a toe today.

      • ridefireflyfarm September 1, 2013 at 2:20 am #

        Wait, what?! Stepping on toes? No. There was no toe steppage. I merely meant to tell you that some horses like upper levels (Like Melody who is at 2nd/3rd level) or hate it, like some horses I’ve met at other barns. Don’t worry, I’m not at all chastising you, and I would have been fine with your blog either way. πŸ™‚

  2. dorothychiotti September 3, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

    Lovely post. Perhaps my one regret, if I have any, is that I didn’t have children (a daughter specifically) with whom to share my passion for horses. Still, I remember those teenage years when I could think of nothing else but being with horses. I still own horse books and prints from my childhood. πŸ˜‰ … Thanks for the follow at “Musings of a Horse Mom.” And I’m looking forward to reading more on your daughter’s equine obsession. … Be well, Dorothy πŸ™‚

    • Blazing a Trail for Wendy September 3, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

      Thank you Dorothy! Your writing is so elegant, I am looking forward to reading more of your blog also!

Leave a Reply

