Sunday Morning Musing Over Coffee

18 Aug

july 14th erins pics 036

Today I am looking out my borrowed window thinking about how the summer went for my family. I don’t ever sit still for long, so a lazy summer for us was filled with so may adventures that I didn’t have the patience to blog them; it was just enough to live in them.

This summer I had to adjust some expectations, bend a bit to make it through some storms and set some new goals. I was rewarded with a few unexpected adventures and even a few new family members to boot. Life is awesome like that.

As I thought about the summer and if I had anything to write about, I had yet another surprise. This blog was intended to document my journey and in some sense, explain myself to my children when they were old enough to be angry with me and ask questions and seek answers. For all my faults, this blog was one way for me to shout back that I have goodness as well as my brokenness. I wanted my children to have a window into my soul that they alone could interpret.

Maybe that will happen.

What did happen in the last forty or so posts was something far more personal. My focus shifted from explaining myself and proving to my children that we are awesome the way we are, to being in the moment of how…awesome we really are.

I began to see awesome moments when I began exploring with the camera to document the summer, and we had to stop and be in the moment.

Awesome moments were I chose to stop and look back to collect my thoughts and share why the day was great with a world that shares the same focus.

And finally, the familiar sensation of moving forward to another great day. This time with a new skill of being in the moment, reflecting then moving forward to tomorrow.

I am here musing over my coffee thinking about how blogging taught me to meditate this summer.

 

2 Responses to “Sunday Morning Musing Over Coffee”

  1. Viki Field August 25, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Good morning thoughtful cousin. I’m enjoying coffee this morning after a run and checking your latest blog entries. I enjoy them very much, they remind me to take some time for myself and clear my mind. Work, school, and everything else keeps me wound up so tight that I welcome a mental stretch. If we don’t make time for this our happiness and feeling of fulfillment may suffer. That’s more important than anything. Add some yoga to your Sunday morning sunrise. Much love~Viki

    • Blazing a Trail for Wendy August 25, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      Life can get hectic quick! I am sure there is a light at the end of your tunnel šŸ™‚ I am sure my tune will change in the middle of my school year as I purposefully fill my schedule to meet my new dreams šŸ™‚
      Thank you for checking out my blog, that means a lot to me!
      Much love in return~ You are in my thoughts often.

Leave a Reply

