The Lowly Pig Weed

24 Jul

pig weed 136

From Stalking The Wild Asparagus:
“It isn’t called that because it’s only fit for pigs. It is just that pigs, knowing a good thing when they taste it, will eat all of the weed they can get.”

pig weed 146

Step one: Find the pig weed.

I plucked our pig weed from our neglected potato patch. Please don’t judge me by the size of these weeds, the potatoes will be fine.

pig weed 152

Step two: Find a willing partner to pluck the best little leaves off of the plants.

pig weed 157

Step three: Wash it well and chop it up. This step is so boring I decided not to even take a picture of it. (My readers are very sophisticated, that step is a given.)

pig weed 167

Step four: Use it!

I have my mothers explicit permission to post her quiche recipe here. The reason it is impossible, is that it is impossible to ruin it.

Need proof? I ran out of flour and used pancake mix instead. It was still awesome!

Mom’s Impossible Quiche

3 cups of flour
1 cup of milk
3 eggs

Whip the above ingredients in a blender and pour into a baking dish

Add whatever you deem delicious. Today was pig weed, green onion, beet tops and purslane.

Feel free to be boring and just add broccoli.

Top with cheese. I am not sure it is possible to eat quiche without cheese. Please let me know if I am wrong.

(P.S. Still. Living.)

2 Responses to “The Lowly Pig Weed”

  1. ridefireflyfarm August 24, 2013 at 2:05 am #

    I hate this stuff. It’s taken over my pasture.
    Maybe I’ll just have to retaliate and put it in my tummy.
    (The pig weed. Not anything else from the pasture. Not until you try it first, anyway.)

    • Blazing a Trail for Wendy August 24, 2013 at 2:09 am #

      It is a close relative to spinach. I found that it is much less bitter and holds its shape better than spinach when cooked. That means I can use a lot less salt/bacon/vinegar to make it taste good 😉 Clarissa eats most of the pig weed in our pasture, she obviously has great taste!

Leave a Reply

