In My Defense….

17 Jul

flower pics 064

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post, this picture I took clearly demonstrates both my family’s concerns and Euell Gibbons point.

This grape-vine is at a neighbor’s house, and hovers over good ol’ fashioned poison ivy. I will not be harvesting here thank you very much. However, there is no way anyone could confuse the two plants.

Probably.

flower pics 066

However this little dandy is responsible for many a rash as everyone has taken a turn at pulling it out of the rock garden and suffered for it. That conversation went a bit like this:
“What is it?”
“I think it is a sapling, I’ll just pull it out.”
“I think that is a grape-vine starting, they grow like weeds here.”
“Either way, it needs to come out, I worked hard on the rock garden!”
After the three consecutive years of rashes, we have decided this is a poison something.
grape vs ivy 006

In case you were wondering, this is a young grape leaf.
I am sure.
Because I am still living.

Leave a Reply

