Dinner After Drama

15 Jul

So far my poor yucca has only served my temper tantrums.

013

So today I decided to put the yucca on my plate. A little like putting my money where my mouth is.

july 14th erins pics 002

The process is pretty simple.

Fist,(and finally)pick the fruit. This is super easy because it is hanging there at the perfect height, like taking it right off of a grocer’s shelf!

Then put it directly on the grill to roast. I didn’t even wash it.Be careful to look for little holes, there are fascinating little moth larvae that live in yucca pods. I didn’t read that those were edible, so I only roasted the ones that were uninhabited.

july 14th erins pics 007
My mentor however must not have liked yucca because this beautiful plant is not mentioned in his book.Euell makes it a point to assure readers that only the most delicious plants are listed in his book to tempt the reader to forage.

july 14th erins pics 009
As I have mentioned before, no one wants to eat yucca with with me because they are convinced I will end up killing myself eating foraged food. But I insist on trying them because I have this odd obsession with knowing what I could eat if I had to.

july 14th erins pics 014

Good news: I am still living!

And it is pretty delicious!

2 Responses to “Dinner After Drama”

  1. The Mystical Mansion and Garden July 15, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    I had no clue that you could eat Yucca! Very interesting. I may have to try that at least once!

    • Blazing a Trail for Wendy July 15, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

      I am using my summer to stalk and eat 😉 What better pastime for a hopeless farming foodie?

Leave a Reply

