Roots Revisited

13 Jul

Blazing a Trail for Wendy

013

I have not been outside in a while; school work and writing are taking up all of my time now, being outside feels good this morning. Watering the horses, I crossed the yard with a bucket of water and my eyes scan the yucca garden I planted last fall. As I take in my paltry attempt at extending mom’s yucca beds, my heart sinks.
The universe has spoken once more:  “Erin, there will be no planting”
No planting a family,
No planting a library,
No planting of love,
No planting of substance.
“Don’t try to put roots down girl! I can and will rip up those roots while they are tender with only a tenuous grip on the soil!” And she does.
I looked at my dead yucca; my mother’s voice ringing in my ears. After all those hours of planning and researching how to eat yucca, moving and separating…

View original post 287 more words

2 Responses to “Roots Revisited”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yucca | Find Me A Cure - July 13, 2013

    […] Roots Revisited […]

  2. Yucca (Yucca schidigera) | Find Me A Cure - July 13, 2013

    […] Roots Revisited […]

Leave a Reply

